Independence Day!

 Quick blog today in honor of the holiday…

The Fourth of July is one of my favorite holidays – (and I know its my cousin Sheila’s favorite too!!!)

Yes, I am a sucker for the patriotism, and of course the history geek in me can tell you ridiculous amounts of information about the Continental Congress , 

the Declaration of Independence   

  dunlap_broadside,

Highsmith-1625-Detail-300_1

and even the Liberty Bell!

 

 

 

 

 

However, regardless of me waxing poetic with patriotism and history,  family (including my blood family and my chosen family of friends) is the highlight of this day for me.

It doesn’t matter what my plans are or aren’t, my location, or even what I am eating- I just always know that I will be with my family on this day, and its comforting and relaxing whatever we do. Not many days in the year can guarantee this, but wouldn’t it be nice if there were more? I may very well try to make it so on the 4th of each month for the rest of the year!  Want to join me?

I hope you all had a great day!

ps-Throwback picture above- to Jules’ holiday contribution a few years ago!  LOVE IT! ( I even put it on my pinterest page!) 

pps- love this quote from Erma Bombeck 🙂

 

Happy-Fourth-of-July-Sayings-3

2 thoughts on “Independence Day!

Leave a Reply

